

Corporate Report

NO: R226

COUNCIL DATE: November 24, 2008

REGULAR COUNCIL

TO: Mayor & Council DATE: November 19, 2008

FROM: Chief Election Officer FILE: 4200-001

SUBJECT: November 15, 2008 Local Government Election – Official Results

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that Council receive this report as information.

PURPOSE

This report provides information on the official results of the local government election held on November 15, 2008.

DISCUSSION

The following is a summary of the official results of the Local Government Election held on November 15, 2008:

MAYOR: ONE (1) TO BE ELECTED

Candidates:	Total	% of
	Votes	Votes
Watts, Dianne	51,423	85.87
Weisenberger, Murray	8,465	14.13

Result: Dianne Watts was officially declared elected on November 18, 2008.

COUNCILLOR: EIGHT (8) TO BE ELECTED

Candidates	Total	% of
	Votes	Votes
Villeneuve, Judy	40,826	10.16
Gill, Tom	39,236	9.76
Steele, Barbara	37,544	9.34
Hepner, Linda	36,872	9.17
Martin, Mary	35,646	8.87
Rasode, Barinder	32,710	8.14
Bose, Bob	28,496	7.09
Hunt, Marvin	22,191	5.52
Gill, Rina	18,888	4.70
McMurtry, Jim	15,809	3.93
Ryan, Stephanie	14,514	3.61
Rice, Grant	12,948	3.22
Hillsdon, Paul	11,443	2.85
Robinson, Gary T.	11,342	2.82
Singh, Partap	10,208	2.54
Hoffman, Gary	9,497	2.36
Bhandari, J.B. (Jag)	7,902	1.97
Wolanski, John	6,106	1.52
Keenan, Bernadette	5,800	1.44
Murtsell, Neil	3,986	0.99

Result: Judy Villeneuve, Tom Gill, Barbara Steele, Linda Hepner, Mary Martin, Barinder Rasode, Bob Bose and Marvin Hunt were officially declared elected on November 18, 2008.

SCHOOL TRUSTEE: SIX (6) TO BE ELECTED

Glass, Pam	27,313	10.40
Allen, Terry	26,885	10.24
Wilson, Shawn	23,046	8.78
Masi, Reni	22,169	8.44
Larsen, Laurie	22,076	8.41
Chatha, Ijaz Ahmed	18,309	6.97
Jefferson, Wayne	16,535	6.30
Greeff, Laurence	16,017	6.10
Van Rhyn, Anne	15,555	5.92
Kang, Malkiat Singh	14,419	5.49
Hillsdon, Paul	14,399	5.48
Moore, Steven D.	14,018	5.34
Dantzer, Alex	12,894	4.91
Taschereau, Kate	10,379	3.95
Caumanns, Nick	8,612	3.28

Result: Pam Glass, Terry Allen, Shawn Wilson, Reni Masi, Laurie Larsen and Ijaz Ahmed Chatha were officially declared elected on November 18, 2008.

VOTING PERCENTAGES

The following chart shows the number of persons qualified to vote, the number of persons who voted, and the percentage of qualified voters who voted in each local government election held in Surrey since 1973:

<u>Year</u>	No. on List of Electors	No. Voting	<u>Percentage</u>
1973	48,028	15,267	31.79
1974	45,185	10,697	23.67
1975	48,631	16,848	34.64
1976	49,281	12,928	26.2
1977	49,811	22,022	44.21
1978	52,828	12,851	24.33
1979	58,587	18,062	30.8
1980	59,126	24,422	41.34
1981	62,868	24,293	38.0
1982	67,036	15,670	23.3
1983	68,643	15,468	22.53
1984	70,174	11,660	16.30
1985	71,072	16,926	23.81
1986	73,259	13,027	17.8
1987	101,043	26,032	25.76
1988	103,363	30,983	29.97
1990	112,744	42,795	37.95
1993	137,111	37,289	27.2
1996	161,432	45,999	28.49
1999	149,229	43,772	29.33
2002	172,684	54,114	31.33
2005	239,444	83,997	35.00
2008	256,913	61,965	24.12

Marg Jones, Chief Election Officer