Skip navigation

About the Surrey Archives Building

A Surrey Landmark

The history of the 1912 Municipal Hall is one of evolution and re-use. The building is a heritage site protected by a Heritage Designation By-Law in 1980 and is listed on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. Its heritage value is not only in its history and architecture, but also in its ability to adapt to viable reuse in changed circumstances.

Timeline

  • 1881: Surrey’s first municipal hall (AKA Town Hall) was constructed at Surrey Centre, quickly became too small for the growing municipality.
  • 1910: A sum of $18,000 was allocated for a new municipal hall. A Building Committee of Reeve Tom Sullivan and Councillors R. D. McKenzie and C.M.C. Carncross selected Cloverdale as the site. J.H. Vickers was awarded the contract and C.H. Clow was the Architect.
  • 1912: Council held the first meeting in the new Municipal Hall. All civic affairs would be held in the building.
  • 1953: An annex, designed by John Furiak, Superintendent of Works, was built as an extension of the 1912 Municipal Hall by the municipal construction crew.
  • 1963: Surrey’s third Municipal Hall opens on King George Highway and Highway 10. The RCMP and Justice facilities take over the entire 1912 Municipal Hall building.
  • 1973: The annex was demolished as a new RCMP building is constructed nearby in Cloverdale.
  • 1976: The 1912 Municipal Hall was renovated to house the Cloverdale Library.
  • 1988: The 1912 Municipal Hall becomes the home of the Cloverdale Seniors Centre.
  • 2006: The Surrey Archives moves into the 1912 Municipal Hall, following extensive renovations to safeguard archival materials.

The 1912 Municipal Hall, one of Surrey’s best-known heritage buildings and home of the Surrey Archives, celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2012. Discover Surrey’s historic buildings through the Community Heritage Register.