Skip navigation

Recertification Courses

swim instructor pool sslc

All City of Surrey Lifeguards and Swim Instructors are required to keep their certifications current. An expired award can result in lost working hours, which is why holding current awards is so important. Our Aquatic Leadership Training program offers all the recertification courses you need to remain current.
Remember to recertify before your award expires.

Lifeguard and Instructor Certifications

National Lifeguard (NL) Pool and National Lifeguard (NL) Waterpark awards must be recertified every two (2) years.
Water Safety Instructor (WSI) certification must be recertified every two (2) years.
Lifesaving Instructor (LSI) award must be recertified every two (2) years.

First Aid Certifications

All Red Cross First Aid certifications are valid for three (3) years.
Some professionals, such as lifeguards or nurses, may be required to recertify sooner.
Please check with your employer to confirm certification requirements.

Visit our online registration system for an Emergency First Aid Recertification, a Standard First Aid Recertification, or a CPR C Recertification.

* All of our First Aid Courses include automated external defibrillator (AED) training.