Skip navigation

Inaugural Ceremony of New Mayor and Council

Mayor Linda Hepner

December 8, 2014

Linda Hepner was sworn in as the Mayor of Surrey at the Inaugural Council meeting in Council Chambers at Surrey City Hall this evening in front of an audience of 400 people.


“I am honoured to be given the opportunity and responsibility to be the next Mayor of this great city of ours,” says Mayor Linda Hepner. “I look forward in continuing the legacy of good work by our previous Mayor Dianne Watts. With a strong combination of experienced and newly elected councillors on my team, we are eager to get to work on behalf of all the people of Surrey.”


Before taking public office, Mayor Hepner has had a 20 year history working at the City of Surrey which included a stint as the Manager of the City’s Economic Development Office. In 2005, she was elected to Council and served three terms as Councillor before winning the Mayor’s chair in last month’s civic election.


At tonight’s Inaugural Council meeting, the following City of Surrey representatives were appointed to the Metro Vancouver Board of Directors:


·         Mayor Linda Hepner

·         Councillor Judy Villeneuve

·         Councillor Barbara Steele

·         Councillor Bruce Hayne

·         Councillor Mary Martin

·         Councillor Tom Gill appointed as Alternate for Mayor Hepner



Media Inquiries:


Oliver Lum

Communications Manager

Office of the Mayor

City of Surrey